Insomniac

You know how sometimes you hit on something you want to post about, because you need help, then in thinking through the post you figure out ways to solve your own problem thereby rendering your post null and void? That’s today’s post. Except I still want your input.

I struggle with insomnia.

Usually it pops up when I’m stressed about something. If it’s a short term stress I’ll be up thinking about it all night, so I know why I’m not sleeping. If it’s a long term stress however, I just don’t sleep. I may not necessarily know why I’m not sleeping, I just know that I’m getting next to none.

Last week was one of those weeks. I managed to get some sleep last night over at The Boy’s house, but for the 9 nights preceding it – nada. I am definitely looking and feeling a little worse for wear.

I’m not entirely certain what set off this particular spree of sleeplessness. My consumer debt is paid off, so it’s not like I have big bills looming. I’m happy with my job, and it’s fairly low stress at the moment, so I don’t think it’s that. It didn’t seem to matter if I had caffeine or sugar during the afternoon, so I don’t think that’s it. I’m at a bit of a loss.

I’m assuming it’s a bunch of little things I need to deal with. I’ll figure something out. Tonight I’m going to soak in a hot bath and go to bed early. I’m going to throw my homemade lavender eye pillow over my eyes to block out the sun. Hopefully that will help.

How do you deal with sleeplessness?

Recommended Reading: Trick Yourself Into Saving Money

10 responses to “Insomniac

  1. Oh dear :( Every once and awhile when my mind races I can’t sleep — I can’t imagine how bad it must be to deal with that constantly

  2. I’ve had it before. It was related to eating dairy. I get all shaky and nervous, it’s weird. Do you think you might have undiagnosed food aversions? Of course, a lot of people just go through phases of insomnia in their lives and it has nothing to do with food obviously, so hopefully it’s just a phase for you that will pass soon. I know it’s the worst feeling ever! Wanting so badly to be able to sleep. It’d be better if you could just embrace it and have an immaculate house and get more things done, but it never works out that way. ;) Hang in there.
    -M

  3. I don’t want this to sound crazy or hoaky but I just did the activity in this video and it opened my eyes to a whole lot of things I didn’t even know were on my mind… http://www.mindvalley.com/goal-setting-redefined/ if this doesn’t help, download the Relax App by Andrew Johnson. He’s cured a few of my sleepless nights.

  4. I used to have terrible insomnia. I battled it from when I was 17-20 (or so) and a LOT before that though not constantly. I didn’t know what to do aside from, in sheer desperation, taking some nyquil every once in awhile to finally get some shut eye. One time, I completely tripped out on Nyquil because it didn’t put me to sleep but it gave me hallucinations, so never again have I done that.

    I’d recommend melatonin. It’s natural and regulates your body’s sleep cycle. Also, I find having a routine. SO maybe take a bath, read for a bit, take some melatonin with some sleepy-time tea, and just wind down. Have some triggers to stop you from thinking about things – an active mind never sleeps.

    • I sometimes take melatonin on weekends but find it leaves me too drowsy on weekday mornings. Definitely worth checking out though!

  5. I actually like my episodes of sleeplessness. There’ll be months when I can run on 2-3 hours of sleep a night (max) but I’ll usually go 48-72 hours without sleeping. But then (of course) comes the inevitable crash and I’m all mopey and depressed and sleeping 12 hours a day during weekdays and up to 20 hours on weekends. If I could just maintain the energy level when I’m hyper… you’d all be speaking Sweatpantish and living in the utopian world of Sweatpania :P

  6. belowhermeans

    It doesn’t happen too often but when it does, I read until my eyes feel tired again.

  7. Are you napping at random times or work various shifts? If I was you I would take a gravol for a few nights. They have the over the counter ginger stuff that is non-addictive.

  8. MyMoneyDesign.com

    Sounds like you have something on your mind that your body won’t let go. To deal with this, I usually force myself to wake up early in the morning. By doing so, I’ll be tired and want to go to bed at night – ready or not.

  9. Aw, not fun. I’ve always found a good soak in the tub is helpful for calming the mind and getting me into sleep mode. I set aside an hour, grab a light/easy read and head for the tub.

    Hope you’re insomnia goes away, quickly!

Leave a Reply

