Signing Off

So, you may have noticed a distinct lack of posting this week. It’s been partially due to the fact that my birthday was this week, and I’ve spent some of my evenings out with people having dinner and socializing. It’s also been partially due to a considerable amount of thinking. You may not like this.

I’m shutting my blog down.

I won’t be deleting it, I’ll leave it up so that people can still read it if they’d like. For that matter I may one day decide to pick up where I left off and keep writing. I’m just not writing right now.

Nothing is wrong, I’m fine, so don’t worry about me. I still have lots to say and lots to write about, I just can’t do it right now.

My life was a complete and utter mess when I started writing. Messy relationship, messy dramatic/toxic friendships, messy finances, messy everything. Writing was a way for me to get things out of my head, so I could deal with life. That and it’s fun, and I rather enjoy doing it. I’ve been doing it consistently for over a year and a half now. It became a priority for me, and in the process I met some awesome people online (you guys).

Life has turned itself around on me, and it’s presenting different issues. I’m in a relationship with a great guy, I have supportive healthy friendships, my money situation has improved dramatically, and I’m generally enjoying life. Unfortunately, I spend a lot of time not experiencing life. I spend a lot of my time online.

My number one priority right now is spending time with The Boy. Living on polar opposite ends of Edmonton, we basically have a long distance relationship. I usually only see him on the weekend. The past couple months that has gotten harder and a little more chaotic, because his father is building a cabin out of town and wants him to help. Basically, right now we’re seeing each other when we can. Usually I head to his house Friday night after work, and head to work from his house Monday morning. I always have my computer with me, but I’d rather spend time doing things than sitting on the internet. When I’m with him I’m more likely to actually do things. 

The remaining time I’m at home is filled with everything else. Catching up on laundry, cleaning, cooking, lawn care, hobbies, exercise, etc… Or at least it’s supposed to be. If I sit down as soon as I get home from work, that’s where I stay. I really don’t get anything done. If I keep active at the end of the day I get a tonne of stuff done, but then I’m on the computer blogging later in the evening. Working with the bright screen right before bed makes it really hard to sleep.

I’m kind of falling behind in life right now. Because I’m only home half the time, I only have half the time to get everything done. Add in the occasional coffee or yoga session in the evening with friends and that’s cut down even more. I’m finding it incredibly hard to have an active social life while at the same time keeping up with things at home, because I’ve been making blogging a priority over day to day life.

Some of you guys reading this are superwomen. Working single moms who keep their homes clean while maintaining their blogs. Freelance writers who maintain active social lives while playing sports and maintaining their  blogs. Students who also work and go to the gym frequently while maintaining a blog. You guys are incredible. I can’t do it. I’m a slow, rambling writer. Blogging for me takes time.

I haven’t maintained a steady workout routine since I started blogging. I’ve had a highly variable level of cleanliness at home since I started blogging. I’ve been making more snacks than actual full meals. Basically, I’ve been giving my online life a higher priority than my offline life, and I really need to give my offline life the priority right now.

I’m not saying that I’ll never blog again, I’m just saying that I’m not going to blog right now. If I come back I may continue writing about money, or it may be a different more all encompassing blog. I don’t know yet, but when I do I’ll let you know.

I’ll still be around reading what you guys are writing. You may even notice that I’ll be commenting more. I just won’t be writing myself.

So, this is me signing off. Thank you for all of your support through my journey to pay off my debts, you’ll never know how much it really means to me. I love all of you guys, and I wish nothing but the best for you. Thank you for reading.

Love Cassie

44 responses to “Signing Off

  1. Cassie!
    You have to do what’s right for you and we respect that. Keep smiling and enjoy life. You only live once! I hope to see you pop around the blog and keep in touch. Cheers darlin and thanks for being a big part of my daily blog post reads.

    Cheers,
    Mr.CBB

  2. Onwards & upwards, Cassie!! :) (((hugs)))

  3. know how you feel Cassie,

    Good luck,

    Gill

  4. Good luck in all your future ventures, Cassie! You should pop on every once in a while and let us know how you’re doing. Take care!
    Michelle and Jefferson

    • Thanks Michelle and Jefferson. I’ll be around, and I’ll be reading your blog for sure :) You’ll hear from me one way or another.
      - Cassie

  5. Cassie – I read this whole thing, and I really am gonna miss you! I loved reading your posts, but I totally understand where you are coming from. I may have to cut down on blogging when I start school, because unfortunately I have to focus on real life vs. online life. Isn’t it weird how we get so addicted to blogging? It really isn’t good if the important parts of our life take a backseat.

    With that said, I hope you know I’m still here for you and you can gchat me, email me, tweet me, or whatever any time you want to talk. I’d love to catch up and see how things are going. If you decide to write, I’ll always be here to read it – no matter what topic it is!

    Hope everything goes well! Good luck :)
    <3
    Erika

    • It is weird, but at the same time it’s not completely unexpected. I tend to get hooked on things quickly, so I need to be aware of it. I’d imagine University is going to take up a good chunk of your time, so I understand cutting back. Real life is what really counts (I’ll still be reading your blog either way)

      I’ll be around. Twitter may get a little more time because closing my blog down is removing a communication outlet. I’d definitely love to keep chatting. Maybe one day I’ll even catch a seat sale and make it down to the states to say hi in person. We’ll see.

      - Cassie

  6. I will miss your posts. Hope you will still pop onto ours from time to time. Glad to hear you Are enjoying each day

  7. Aw man I only recently discovered you! It’s been too short!

    It’s been great – hope to still see you around online. I know great things are ahead of you.

  8. Miss you! Glad you’ll still be around reading/commenting. Please tell me this means more time for coffee with me ;)

  9. I know what you mean, Cassie. Thanks so much for sharing so much of your life, I always enjoy reading your blog.

    I’ve been feeling the same way for quite some time. It’s been pretty hard for me to keep up with offline life, and even though I really enjoy blogging and connecting with others, there really isn’t enough time in the day.

    • Thanks Fabulously Frugirl. I really enjoy reading your blog too, I feel like we have a lot in common. At first I thought it was the winter blues keeping me down when I was thinking about stopping, but I realize that if I still feel this way on the longest day of the year, there’s an issue. Sometimes we have to pick or choose, for better or worse. I hope you’re doing well and enjoying being home from Italy.
      - Cassie

  10. belowhermeans

    Noooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! -stops to take a deep breath- NOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!

  11. Agree with all of the comments above! Take care and enjoy everything life has to offer! Looking forward to seeing you back in the future!

  12. How sad! I will miss you friend but hopefully you will still keep in contact!

    • I’ll do my best. I’m still on twitter, and I read your blog regularly :) It seems like The Boy’s friends are constantly wanting to go to Vegas, if I’m ever down I’ll look you up.
      - Cassie

  13. I am sad, it has been a blast. I would have never started blogging if it were not for you. If you ever want to meet up in real life, e-mail me.

    • I know, and I’m loving watching your blog grow. The only reason I don’t comment more is because I read it on my lunch break at work and the commenting system doesn’t work on their computers. If I’m ever in the province I’ll let you know, and by all means if you’re ever out west give me a shout.
      - Cassie

  14. Best of luck to you lady! You know where to find me XOXO

  15. Not sure what to say: yes, I’ll be missing you but yes, I understand your decision. But I hope this online change will bring a good change into your offline life. Wish you all the best!

  16. Will miss you, but totally respect your decision! Kudos to you, girl!

  17. Gotta do what you gotta do. But we’ll miss you. Good luck with all the things going on in your life right now. You’re always welcome to come back any time! :)

  18. I’m really glad to have met you and hope that you stop by my part of the world if you get some spare time. I’m dealing with some of the same thoughts. It is getting hard to write about money and life when things are going well. For me, writing comes so much easier from pain. It’s getting harder to dedicate so much time to blogging, and when I started, I didn’t really know what I was getting into. Will miss you!

  19. MyMoneyDesign.com

    You gotta do what’s right for you! Thanks for the stories and keep up the great enthusiasm!

  20. I’m gonna miss you gal! You were one of the first people to comment on my blog and sent some great words of encouragement my way, which I still appreciate – so thanks! I’m really going to miss your posts and words of wisdom.

    All the best for the future, friend! Take care of yourself!

  21. I feel horrible that I’m so behind on reading blogs and completely missed this… I’m really going to miss your blog posts and do hope you won’t disappear completely! But I fully support all of the reasons you want to stop now. I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately, mostly because I’m a little lost on what I want the next 6+ months to look like for me… but your reasons are solid and current and I’m so happy for the place you’re at in life now. Hope we stay connected in some way! Enjoy life, Cassie :) xo

  22. Pingback: Italy Recap & Tax Refund Allocation & What’s Next | fabulously fru-girl

  23. It’s all good! I totally know the feeling, but generally speaking my life in the past year has been about NOT letting guilt/sense of obligation be my motivation to do anything, so when I don’t feel like blogging or I get busy, I don’t blog. No explanations :). That’s not how you run a blog “business”, but my blog (like yours) had so many personal motivations and any income from it is an unexpected bonus, not a priority. So I just do what I gotta do, and you do too! I hope you still come by because you always keep my motivated and I love your writing and style. BESOS!!! ADP

  24. Oh no! I’ll miss your posts, but I’m glad to hear your personal life has improved a lot since you started blogging. Enjoy your life, it was a pleasure reading all your posts!

  25. I don’t know how I missed this post until now. I’ve been severely lacking with my posting. I am very sad to hear this. I understand though. I also spend way too much online and I need to stop.

  26. bluecollarworkman

    What’s sort of sad is that this is my first time here! Sad to hear that I won’t get to know you and your blog, but it sounds like you’re taking a step you need to. So off you go and don’t worry about us, we’ll be here if you decide to come back! :-)

  27. Pingback: July Link Love – Some Top Notch Posts By Some Top Notch Bloggers | MoMoneyMoHouses

Leave a Reply

